This page is dedicated to Schools Cricket. Hopefully the information below will help you see what competitions are available for schools and how to ente; upcoming fixtures and results; and an explanation of all the schools coaching going on in the region. 


Schools Cricket


National Schools Cup

National Primary Schools Cup

In its sixth season Cricket Scotland’s Development Flagship event for Under-10s has involved over 500 Primary Schools annually in the 8-a-side Pairs Kwik Cricket format.

In those four years the CS Development team has delivered taster sessions annually to over 5,000 primary school children the length, breadth and width of Scotland; many with the assistance of the local club network who have clearly benefitted from the increase in competition and tournaments in their areas.

Once again the 16 successful teams form the Regional and Area tournaments will gather at Doo’cot Park in Perth (on June 18) to find Scotland’s champion primary school.

Schools Winners (By David Potter)

Previous winners:

2013 - Loretto

2012 - Strathkinness

2011 – James Gillespie (Edinburgh)

2010 – George Watsons


East Region Qualifying Events

Borders - June 5th

East Lothian - May 22nd

Edinburgh - June 11th

West Lothian - June 11th


National Emerging Schools `Cricket Factory Cup`

National Emerging Schools `Cricket Factory Cup`

Devised to provide cricket for S1-3 pupils at schools that have little or no tradition of cricket and adapting the popular 8-a-side softball format used in the primary school event.

The numbers of schools involved (18 teams) in 2013 was a 25% increase on the inaugural year and the format has proved to be popular with schools, coaches and clubs alike.

Once again the successful teams from the 4 qualifying Regional tournaments will meet to play two semi-finals, third place play-off and the National Final at Doo’cot Park on June 19.


Previous winners:

2013 - James Gillespies High School

2012 – Airdrie Academy

2011 – Kinross High School


East Region Qualifying Event - June 5th in Edinburgh, venue TBC


National Secondary Cup

Using the very popular twenty overs aside T20 format the Secondary Schools Cup, now in its sixth year the competition was launched to provide our schools with a national competition for S1-3 pupils. Finals day involves the winners of the 4 qualifying Regional tournaments meeting in two semi-finals, third place play-off and the National Final at Doo’cot Park on June 17.


Previous winners:

2013 - Glenalmond College

2012 – Glenalmond College

2011 – Glenalmond College

2010 – Edinburgh Academy

2009 – The High School of Glasgow


East Region Qualifying Event - May 15th at Merchiston Castle School


How to enter

All entry details for the National Competitions are below or you can simply contact your local development officer in the contacts section or Ian Sandbrook -

National Secondary Schools Cup
2014 Secondary Schools Cups Letter (2).p
Adobe Acrobat Document 171.6 KB
National Secondary Schools `Cricket Factory Cup`
Cricket Factory Schools' Cup - Letter to
Adobe Acrobat Document 157.9 KB
National Secondary Girls Cup
2014 Secondary School Girls Letter 2.pdf
Adobe Acrobat Document 104.1 KB